In C – Sasha Waltz and Guests

a la une, Arts

In C

Sasha Waltz & Guests  Terry Riley  Bang on a Can All-Stars  Radialsystem Berlin





photos Sebastian Bolesch

“In C” by Sasha Waltz & Guests – After it was premiered digitally in March 2021, and had various national guest performances and the Live Berlin premiere in September. The next step for “In C” by Sasha Waltz & Guests was at radialsystem with live music with the New York collective “Bang on a Can All-Stars” – from December 10th to 12th, 2021 and a live stream directly from Berlin on the upper youtube link, December 12 at 6.30pm.

“In C” by Sasha Waltz & Guests is a colourful excursion into the minimal music universe. Based on Terry Riley‘s eponymous, revolutionary and open composition, Sasha Waltz and her dancers developed choreographic material that follows a similarly variable structure and therefore leaves room for ever new variations. 

The exciting concert program includes works by Michael Gordon, David Lang, Julia Wolfe, Meredith Monk, Steve Martland and the premiere of a new piece by Nick Dunston.

The New York formation “Bang on a Can” was founded in 1987 by the composers Michael Gordon, David Lang and Julia Wolfe and is an international community dedicated to innovative music. In 2001 the collective published their own interpretation of the minimalist classic “In C” by Terry Riley, implemented with an extraordinary combination of amplified instruments from all over the world. Founded in 1992 by “Bang on a Can”, the “Bang on a Can All-Stars” are a six-member ensemble that crosses the boundaries between classical, jazz, rock, world music and experimental music for ultra-dynamic live performances and recordings of innovative music.

photos Sebastian Bolesch

concept / choreography  Sasha Waltz

costume Jasmine Lepore

light  Olaf Danilsen

concept / dramaturgy  Jochen Sandig

dance / choreography 

Edivaldo Ernesto

Melissa Figueiredo

Tian Gao

Hwanhee Hwang

Annapaola Leso

Michal Mualem

Sean Nederlof

Zaratiana Randrianantenaina

Aladino Rivera Blanca

Orlando Rodriguez

Joel Suárez Gómez

Ichiro Sugae

photos Jochen Sandig

live music

Bang on a Can All-Stars

bass Robert Black

piano Vicky Chow

percussion David Cossin

cello Arlen Hlusko

electric guitar Mark Stewart 

clarinet & saxophone Ken Thomson

radialsystem Berlin

the concert program:

David Lang “sunray”

Michael Gordon “Gene takes a drink”

Nick Dunston “Fainting is Down, Whooshing is Up”

Julia Wolfe “Believing”

Meredith Monk “Spaceship”

Steve Martland “Horses of Instruction”